Victory Dinner

During the visit to the zoo, I received several texts from my friend. Her sister was playing in the Final of the Kangaroo Cup against Kimiko Date-Krumm. There were some tense texts but Tammy won! This made our short vacation even better. The only time I had met my friend’s sister was when she was playing Wimbledon in 1999. I was eight months’ pregnant and had just come off a plane. (Shouldn’t have been flying. Oops!) The conversation went like this: “Hi. Nice to meet you. I need to go to bed now.” But this time, it was wonderful to have dinner and celebrate Tammy’s victory. And I was nicer this time and left a lovely lipstick mark on Tammy’s face. Must have been the Black Cow sake I was drinking…

We went to a tempura restaurant. It was the best tempura I have ever eaten. There was sashimi to congratulate Tammy, and lovely cakes and champagne from the president and staff of the Portopia Hotel. What a great last night in Kobe!

1 Comment

  1. Poppiina said,

    May 16, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Thank you, Eleanor-sensei! We were glad you could be part of the celebration.

    And please visit my bilingual blog! http://poppiina.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

