Summer in Scotland

I spent a month in Scotland this summer. I had a few days holiday before I started doing some research: visiting local schools and their libraries, and attending a conference at Stirling University.

Here are some pictures of my family. You can see my parents, my sister and her husband and son, and my children. We love to get together and eat dinner. Then the kids all play together. We had roast beef and Yotkshire puddings for dinner. It was a special request from my daughter. Yummy!

p1080536.jpg

And here is my daughter playing in the street where my parents live. They live in a cul-de-sac, that means the road is a dead end; there is no way to drive through. So it is quite safe for children to play in the street. There are about 40 children living in this street although there are only 54 houses! So they all play together. In the summer it gets dark about 10 p.m. Kids usually play outside until the street lights come on just after 9 p.m. They are on bikes, scooters, skates, and skateboards. Somehow a large town in the UK seems a lot more child-friendly than rural Japan.

p1080511.jpg

1 Comment

  1. Chihiro Hino said,

    October 2, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Hello!! New semester has started yesterday.
    I enjoyed this summer vacation yery much.
    And you seem to have enjoyed summer vacation, too!
    You went to many countries.
    Your hometown is very good for children.
    Roast beef and Yotkshire puddings sounds good!
    I want to go Scotland someday.
    See you tomorrow !


Leave a Reply

