Monterey, California

p1080440.jpgWe arrived in Monterey at 4 p.m. on the 4th of August. I was surprised at the mix of architecture in this small town. It is an old town by American standards, with some buildings over 100 years old. There are churches and houses from its Mexican past; adobe buildings (these are made from baked earth); Art Nouveau buildings; and most new buildings downtown have been designed to blend with the old architecture. I was surprised that there were no very tall buildings. I always think of the US as being a very new country so I had expected modern glass and steel architecture in the towns.
The weather was very pleasant. It was sunny but not humid. It was very comfortable to walk around. I got up very early on the 5th and walked for 2 hours along the bike/pedestrian trail that follows the coast. I saw seals and sea-lions and many sea birds. It’s a pretty little town.

2 Comments

  1. shohei saita said,

    August 24, 2007 at 5:23 am

    I enjoyed reading your blog. I am interested in other countries culotures, so I want to see old buildings.
    It is so hot and humid in Shimane, so I envy you so much.
    I would like to go there sometime and get a lot of knowledge about Monterey.

  2. Yuka Morimoto said,

    August 29, 2007 at 3:54 am

    This blog is very interesting! I want to go there. I like an old row of houses and streets.
    I write a blog,too.But my blog is written in Japanese.I think it’s interesting to write it in English.


Leave a Reply

